The iconic music shop where Cork rock legend Rory Gallagher bought his first guitar has closed after almost 90 years of trading. The shop is now closed, and the building is now home to a superb burger restaurant.
Founded in 1926 by piper and pipe maker Tadhg Ó Crualaoí and his brother Denis, the business moved from their Blackpool home to No 10 Merchant’s Quay in 1933. After his father’s death in 1955, a young Michael Crowley began working in the shop, taking over the business at the tender age of 14.
The shop moved to the McCurtain St premises in 1974 and it was from here that it was to become a cultural hub, inspiring local and national artists, most notably Rory Gallagher who had bought his famous Fender Stratocaster from Michael in 1963.
(Source: Irish Examiner August 13, 2013)
Crowley’s Music Store was where Rory acquired his first guitars – wooden acoustic, Rossette solid seven electric and the famous ’61 Stratocaster + amps. In the 60’s the shop moved to MacCurtain Street (within doors of the house Rory lived in) to a location which had previously been a showroom for the Ford Motor Company.
(Source: Donal Gallagher, Rory Gallagher Live at Cork Opera House DVD)